They played 90 holes over a grueling 5 day period in the final stage of the 2017 Q-School at LPGA International, but it all ended Sunday with nine players earning full-time status on next year’s LPGA Tour.

There were 165 players who teed it up on Wednesday, and the field was cut to the top 70 and ties for Sunday’s final round.

Many of these players were seeking LPGA tour membership for the very first time. Only the top 20 finishers would be rewarded with full time playing privileges on the LPGA tour in 2018. Of those 20 players, nine of them will be rookies playing on the LPGA tour for the first time.

Tiffany Chan (24 years old) – Hong Kong – She will be the first player from Hong Kong to ever play on the LPGA tour.
Rebecca Artis (29) – Coonabarabran, Australia – Has two wins on the Ladies European Tour.
Luna Sobron Galmes (23) – Palma De Mallorca, Spain
Robynn Ree (20) – Rendondo Beach, California
Lauren Coughlin (25) – Charlottesville, Virginia
Georgia Hall (21) – Wimborne, England – Currently #41 on the Rolex Rankings, and 2017 Solheim Cup member of Team Europe.
Kassidy Teare (23) – San Diego, California
Gemma Dryburgh (24) – Aberdeen, Scotland
Maria Torres (22)- San Juan, Puerto Rico

Team Europe Rookie, Georgia Hall calms the nerves with her tee shot on Day One
Georgia Hall played on Team Europe in the 2017 Solheim Cup and will be one of the favorites to win top rookie honors in 2018. | Photo: Ben Harpring for

The above 9 players will be joined on the LPGA tour by 7 other rookies who last month received their full time 2018 LPGA playing privileges by finishing in the top 10 on the 2017 Symetra Tour money list. They are as follows:

Hannah Green
Nanna Koertz Madsen
Yu Liu
Erynne Lee
Lindsey Weaver
Emma Talley
Katelyn Dambaugh

The LPGA will have one additional rookie in 2018 as KLPGA star, Jin Young Ko, earned her LPGA membership by winning the KEB Hana Bank Championship last October.

Rookie Jin Young Ko leaves fans smiling after signing autographs
Jin Young Ko leaves fans smiling after signing autographs at the year ending CME Group Tour Championship. Jin Young Ko will be trying to be the 4th consecutive Louise Suggs Rookie of the Year winner from South Korea. Photo: Ben Harpring for

For the 17 players listed above, it is a dream come true. I am sure you will all join me in wishing them success during the upcoming 2018 season.

13 other players earned partial playing status for the upcoming season.

Leticia Ras-Anderica (Konstanz, Germany)
Maddie McCrary (Wylie, Texas)
Samantha Troyanovich (Grosse Pointe Shores, Michigan)
Brittany Marchand (Orangeville, Ontario)
Jennifer Hahn (Henderson, Nevada)
Martina Edberg (Glumslov, Sweden)
Alexandra Newell (Tampa, Florida)
Lori Beth Adams (Burlington, North Carolina)
Camilla Lennarth (Stockholm, Sweden)
Harang Lee (Bilbao, Spain)
Allison Emrey (Charlotte, North Carolina)
Katelyn Sepmoree (Tyler, Texas)
Mind Muangkhumsakul (Khonkaen, Thailand)

Ingee Chun with Tony Jesselli
In Gee Chun with Tony Jesselli

Tony Jesselli is the author of the very popular blog TONY’S LPGA REPORT, which has been covering tour and player news since 2010. Every week Tony reports on the latest news and results from women’s professional golf around the world and previews upcoming tournaments with player news, the strength of field ratings, and TV times. It has earned the reputation as the ‘go-to’ resource for up to date and accurate news about the LPGA.

Follow Tony Jesselli online by visiting Tony’s LPGA Report regularly and following Tony on Twitter @tonyjesselli.

Feature photo: Rebecca Artis at the final stage of Q-School 2017 – Courtesy LPGA Media


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here